Equality and Diversity Program

Standard

This morning, I completed a 4-hour program on Equality and Diversity Awareness. It followed an on-line module that I had already completed last week (about 2 hours). It was largely a refresher course, one of multiple I’ve completed since undertaking a 3-day full program way back in 1999. This one covered disability, multiculturalism and related issues – the highlight for me was the section on indigenous culture, delivered by Mick Coombes (La Trobe’s Indigenous Employment Coordinator). Very useful – I learned a lot.

These issues are a bit of a hobby horse of mine – I volunteered to act as a Conciliator/Advisor for the La Trobe Equity and Access Unit from 2002-2009 inclusive. On occasion, I dealt with conciliation and mediation cases when the Unit was short-staffed, as part of this role. Check out the poster via the link below!!!

Poster

Leave a Reply

