200-Up

Standard

And now for something completely different!

On weekends (during the winter months in Melbourne), I am an umpire (referee) in my local Australian Rules football league, the Northern Football League (NFL, formerly Diamond Valley).

Tomorrow, I will notch up my 200th A Grade (Senior) match, officiating Northcote Park v West Preston in Division 1 at Bill Lawry Oval.

I started in 2000, and got to 100 in 2004, so the second century has taken significantly longer – it’s great to get there finally.

Details here

I look forward to the milestone – umpiring is an athletic pursuit, but above all it’s about the people you do it with, and to this end, I’m lucky to have a panel full of good mates with me for the occasion.

Leave a Reply

